Skip to content

TT Zero 2016 – A First Look

TT 2016 is just round the corner and that means another installment of the TT Zero race. Mocked by some, loved by others, you can't argue that the rate of progress these bikes and teams have made since the first electric race over the mountain course in the the form of the TTXGP. Anyone with an interest in the sport or automotive technology can't help but be impressed.

Here's a quick reminder of where we came from. The 2009 TTXGP winning lap by Rob Barber on the AGNI was 87.434MPH and the first TT Zero race in 2010 was won by Mark Miller on the MotoCzysz E1pc at an average speed of 99.604MPH. By 2015 John McGuinness took the Mugen Shinden to the win at 119.279MPH.

This year sees the return of McGuinness and Anstey with team Mugen on the new 2016 Mugen Shinden Go. Victory's sole rider, William Dunlop, will ride the new Empulse RR. Friends of EVIOM, Saroléa, return to the island and have confirmed two riders this year, Lee Johnston and Dean Harrison will ride the beautiful Belgian bike for the one lap race.

The official TT programme shows other entries from the Universities of Nottingham, Brunel and Bath. A Lito TMR (I couldn't find any information on this machine), one unconfirmed machine ridden by Antonio Maeso and an intriguing entry for Mark Miller and Splitlath...

There is also a third Saroléa bike in the list but as mentioned earlier, the actual entries do tend to vary a fair bit between the programme and the start line on Wednesday of Race Week.

EVIOM wishes all the teams and riders the best of luck and is looking forward to a great and hopefully record breaking race.

To find out more information on practice and race schedules visit and listen live over the air or online via Radio TT. The race will also be shown on ITV4 in the UK and IOM.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: